The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Seattle chapter hosted the 70th annual Honor Awards for Washington Architecture on November 16 to celebrate excellence in design.

The distinguished jury included Marsha Maytum, FAIA, LEED AP (LMSA), Pascale Sablan, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP (Beyond the Built Environment +  S9ARCHITECTURE), and Tatiana Bilbao (Tatiana Bilbao ESTUDIO). Co-Chairs for the 2020 AIA Seattle Honor Awards were Kevin Snook AIA (ZGF Architects) and Ming-Lee Yuan (Olson Kundig).

From 103 submittals, the jury chose 20 award winners from three categories – built, conceptual, and research & innovation. This was the third year of the Research & Innovation category, recognizing strides in research and innovation coming out of our region, elevating our communities’ awareness of advancement in architectural practice. This was the fifth year of the Energy in Design Award to commend projects that have made quantifiably significant strides in energy reduction while also maintaining the highest qualitative design caliber.

In addition to the awards, it was the third year of the Young Voices Selection (YVS), a program with the aim to engage and elevate the voices of young designers through direct participation and representation in AIA Seattle’s Honor Awards for Washington Architecture. The three YVS panelists were Molly Evans (Olson Kundig), Marquesa Figueroa (SRG Partnership), and Higinio Turrubiates (Integrus Architecture).

Across the spectrum of project types, the jury acknowledged the strong design culture represented in our region and were so impressed with the “beautiful and inspired projects that are committed to sustainability and tackling social issues, engaging with the projects communities while also solving site relationships elegantly and simply.”

More info on the AIA Seattle Website here.

Congratulations to all the winners and thank you to our esteemed jury and Honor Awards Committee! 

Missed the live show? You can catch the replay over on our YouTube channel!